Buttery Einkorn Wheat Drop Biscuits

If you read my last bread-baking post, you know I recently bought some einkorn wheat to try in bread.  Still experimenting, I made some yummy biscuits last week.

I bake with barley flour a fair amount, and the einkorn seemed rather like it to work with, except less crumbly in the finished product.  They seemed to absorb about the same amount of liquid, and I have used the following recipe for both, with very good results.

I am a big barley fan, but I preferred the flavor of the einkorn here, and the whole family raved when I made them.  These buttery biscuits were delicious with the nutty flavor of the wheat, and they made for really good eating with a bowl of soup.

BUTTERY EINKORN WHEAT DROP BISCUITS

4 cups einkorn wheat flour

2 T. baking powder

1 t. baking soda

1 T. sugar

2 tsp. salt

1 cup cold, unsalted butter, cut into chunks

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

In food processor, pulse together flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar and salt to combine.  Add butter and pulse until mixture is the texture of coarse meal.

Transfer mixture to large mixing bowl and stir in buttermilk until evenly moistened.  Scoop out mounds of dough with a 1/4 cup cookie scoop, dropping them onto parchment-lined baking sheets (mine are insulated.)

Bake until biscuits are puffed and golden, 13-15 minutes.  Makes 16-18 biscuits.

6 thoughts on “Buttery Einkorn Wheat Drop Biscuits

  1. I made these and they were awesome! I did not have buttermilk, so I used regular organic milk and they were great. I’ll try buttermilk next time and see what happens. Thank you!

    • Glad you enjoyed them. Regular milk works too, as you found out, but you will get a little better rise with buttermilk. Or add a splash of apple cider vinegar to your milk to make pseudo-buttermilk. (The acidity of the buttermilk reacts with the soda.) Good either way, though. Love the flavor of einkorn. :)

Leave a Reply

