Homemade Graham Crackers

These are the best!  I’d never made graham crackers before, but when I saw the recipe here, I knew I’d have to try it.  They turned out nice and crispy crunchy, and the flavor is fantastic.

I did make a few adjustments in the technique and will make a few more next time.

  • If using freshly milled flour (which is light and fluffy), add about 1/4 cup extra flour.
  • Use parchment paper instead of wax paper, which stuck to the bottoms a little.
  • I prefer thinner crackers, and these were more cookie-ish in thickness even though I used my largest cookie sheet.  Next time I’ll use two medium size cookie sheets, which will allow more surface area and thus thinner crackers.

  • After removing the graham crackers from the oven, carefully lift them from the paper underneath and place on cooling racks.  (This way they can dry and crisp up on the sides and bottoms too.)  Turn off the oven, and after it has cooled slightly, put the racks of crackers back in the oven, leaving the door ajar, until crispy.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Graham Crackers

Leave a Reply

